My Communal Table


Molly’s Hot Mustard
August 26, 2010, 4:24 pm
Filed under: sauces and condiments | Tags: , , , ,

If you want your clear out your sinuses next time you make a panini or have some spiral ham, this is your mustard. This mustard is sweet when you first taste it, then it has a big hit of heat after that. It is so addicting.

This has been a family favorite for years, but my sister-in-law, Molly, faithfully made it often and would even gave it as gifts. Her father was crazy for it and she would always make sure that he got a jar of it. Here’s the deal, Molly was not a big cook, but now I can not make this mustard without thinking about Molly and how often she made it. So I have taken it upon myself and renamed the family “hot mustard” after Molly. Our family lost Molly 4 1/2 years ago to cancer. I know that we will never stop missing her, but I know that she would get such a kick out of me renaming the recipe after her. Here’s to you, “Miss Molly”…

Makes 2 1/2 cups

1 cup malt vinegar
1 cup dry mustard
3 egg yolks
1 cup sugar

1. Soak the vinegar and dry mustard together in a glass or stainless steel bowl overnight.

2. Place mustard mixture in double boiler and start heating over medium-low heat.

3. Whisk in egg yolks and sugar.

4. Whisking constantly, until thick, about 10 minutes.

5. Store in refrigerator or freezer.

Just a note: When I was young this was my spicy thing I ate, now that my palate is quite accustom to heat, it isn’t as OMG spicy as it used to be for me. Maybe too much thai food as desensitized my palate. Who knows, but if you are a spicy heat monger, this will be super delicious for you and give you some punch, but it won’t blow your socks off. If you are a light weight when it comes to heat, still venture here. It has so many complex flavors to it.

Pull up a chair, Elizabeth

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This is a wonderful recipe and recalls wonderful memories of such a special person in your family!

Comment by Liz the Chef




Leave a Reply

