My Communal Table


Corn Risotto garnished with Bacon & Anchovy Sage Bites
August 17, 2010, 7:22 pm
Filed under: Budget Meals, Main Entree | Tags: , , , , , ,

I used to make risotto with lots of cream and cheese, but with my son being allergic to dairy, I had to change it up. Risotto has the ability to absorb liquid then release starches while it is cooking, leaving the rice with a creamy texture without even using adding dairy. I do finish with butter, but in my case, I use a vegan butter called earth balance. I like the taste and it has no cholesterol . I feel quite satisfied just adding a little grated romano on top of the risotto at the end.

The creaminess of the risotto with the sweetness of the corn is a perfect foil for the crispy saltiness of bacon. Simply crumble on the top, but a really fun addition to the top of this dish is Anchovy Sage Leaf Bites. I learned about this recipe from an elderly client that would come in every Wednesday morning to get her hair done for her afternoon card game with the ladies. She as rail thin and didn’t eat much, but she would make these every week with a big pitcher of Martinis. Hilarious. These little explosion of salty flavor could be used a lot of different ways. They are just fun.

Serves 6

Corn Risotto:

6 cups chicken stock
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cup arborio rice
1/2 cup Chardonney
2 ears of fresh corn, cut from cob
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons fresh sage, chopped
salt and pepper, to taste
4 strips of bacon, cooked crispy, chopped
Romano cheese, grated

1. Bring chicken stock to boil in saucepan and keep simmering while cooking risotto.

2. In another sauce pan, heat up olive oil over medium high heat. Add onions until translucent.

3. Add rice and stir until opaque. About 1 minute. Add wine to rice, stir until absorbed.

4. Add chicken broth one ladle at a time. After each ladle is absorbed, add another. Stir constantly. I prefer to have the rest of the bottle of Chardonnay next to me, keeping my wine glass filled during my risotto stirring. My favorite way to make risotto.

5. When you have about 1 cup of chicken stock left, add remaining stock, corn, and sage.

6. When absorbed, finished with butter, salt, and pepper. Add cheese if you please Note: be careful with salt, if you are going to add bacon, cheese, and/or sage bites.

7. Serve and garnish with bacon and Anchovy Sage Bite for fun.

Anchovy Sage Bite:

sage leaf
anchovy
rice flour
pepper
1 egg, slightly beaten
canola oil

1. Mash anchovies in dish. Approx. 1/2 anchovy per sage leaf. You can make one or a dozen. Spread on one side of leaf.

2. Roll leaf in rice flour with pepper. Shake off excess.

3. Dip leaf in beaten egg.

4. Place egged leaf in canola oil that has been heating in a sauce pan.

5. Brown, drain and serve. I like to use them for garnish.

I love how risotto can showcase a summer vegetable off perfectly. You can make it healthy and budget friendly. My son feels super special being served a beautiful plate of risotto with extra handful of bacon. Hope that risotto can make it ways to your table.

Pull up a chair, Elizabeth

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks incredible. Love how you mesh your son’s allergies into elegant, edible recipes!

Comment by Liz the Chef

Hey, thanks. Actually my son’s allergies have helped me look at recipes in a whole new way.

Comment by behindthechair

The anchovy sage bites sound great in themselves. Thats a neat flavor combo and I know I can use with some other things. I’ve had a hankering for anchhovys lately now I’ll try this. As far as butter I use Smart Balance myself.

Comment by Jed Gibbons

Man, these hit the anchovy craving spot! You will enjoy them. Let me know how you use them.

Comment by behindthechair




Leave a Reply

