My Communal Table


Fresh Heirloom Cherry Tomatoes and Peas.
July 28, 2010, 12:39 pm
Filed under: side dish, Vegan | Tags: , , , , ,

This is recipe is about having the freshest, highest quality ingredients at hand and letting them do the talking. I love this dish. Super simple, but can only be had at this time of year. It is such a treat. I can still get fresh peas in the midwest and tomatoes are starting to reach perfection. I use the best butter that I can buy, a beautiful Chardonnay, and sea salt to make this perfect. I am putting down that this feeds 2 people, but I could eat the entire plate and a glass of Chardonnay and feel completely satisfied.

Serves 2

3 pads of sweet butter
1 cup fresh peas
1 cup heirloom cherry tomatoes
1 1/2 tablespoon chives, finely chopped
1 splash Chardonnay
sea salt and cracked pepper, to taste.

1. In my favorite 10 inch skillet, I melt the butter over med-low heat.

2. Add peas, tomatoes, & chives. Cook, tossing occasionally for about 5 minutes.

3. Add splash of wine, s&p and cook until tomatoes start to crack open and peas are tender. About 5 minutes more.

4.Serve warm. So simple and good.

Super delicious does not mean complicated. Hope that you enjoy.

Pull up a chair, Elizabeth

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yum!

Comment by kris

By far the best looking bowl of peas I have seen in a looonnnnngg time!

Love what you’re doing here in your corner and am really glad I found you.

Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

Comment by Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

I’m drooling! Good Lord, woman, what are you doing to us?!

Comment by The Other Elizabeth

I aim to please. Thanks, Elizabeth

Comment by behindthechair




Leave a Reply

