My Communal Table


Peas, glorious peas
July 7, 2010, 3:10 pm
Filed under: Appetizers, Main Entree | Tags: , , , , , ,

My bag was filling up. My gramma and I were on a mission… get enough peas for the whole family to eat with dinner that night. Our garden had a whole row of them. After our bag was filled enough, we would sit on the patio and shuck the peas from their shells, sneaking a few sweet morsels into my mouth.The weather always seemed perfect in my memory. Not too cold nor too hot. I can not remember our conversation, but my minds eye sees her hands so perfectly as she shucked the peas, I remember the feeling of happiness I had that my gramma was visiting me (not the rest of the family, mind you) and how I loved her.

On this day, after my son and I shucked peas together that we had bought at the market, we made peas and pasta with a little bacon, of course. Plenty of parmesan shredded on top. Fabulous. Perfect summer meal. Perfect moment. Perfect memory.

Pull up a chair, Elizabeth

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That looks good! Maybe I should come up for a trim while they’re in season. đŸ™‚

Comment by Jed Gibbons




Leave a Reply

