My Communal Table


Ham and Sweet Potato Sandwich
June 8, 2010, 10:35 pm
Filed under: Main Entree, Sandwich | Tags: , , , ,

I can get somewhat emotional about sandwiches. I love them. I am always dreaming up my next favorite sandwich and this one has been on the top of the list for quite a while. The saltiness of the meat with the sour dough bread, then throw in the sweet potatoes and the peppery crisp of arugula… OMG, then the creaminess of the brie cheese. This is heaven.

I like it either warmed up like a panini or just assembled cold. It depends how hunger I am, if I can wait to heat it up, I eat it ASAP with some dijon mustard.

For the perfect sandwich:

2 slices of sour dough bread
2 slices of ham, crisped up slightly in some butter
2 slices of brie cheese
handful of arugula
sweet potato fries, see note
dijon mustard

Note: Cut sweet potato in french frie style. Skins and all. Lightly toss in olive oil, salt and pepper. Put on a baking sheet and stick into a preheated oven of 400F, tossing a few times, until crisp. Approximently 30 minutes. I alway make extra fries, so I can make this sandwich the next day.

Pull up a chair, Elizabeth

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Elizabeth,
Once again you are making my mouth water way too early in the morning! I’ll be thinking about trying to duplicate this sandwich all day! Thanks. Looks delicious!
Carol

Comment by Carol

Elizabeth,
This looks really good even though I am not at all a sweet potato person. Nice shot

Comment by Jed Gibbons




Leave a Reply

