My Communal Table


Rhubarb Ginger Chutney

As much as I love rhubarb pie, sometimes I look at my bunch of rhubarb and want to do something different with it. I came up with this chutney to accompany pork tenderloin I had made. I have ended up using the chutney to compliment several different foods since.

It is a sweet, but with the obvious tart from the rhubarb. The ginger gives it a bit and the sriracha hits the back of the throat. I have served it with homemade biscuits, along side more traditional jams, and have had rave reviews.

In this picture, I served the chutney with a berkshire porkchop that I seasoned with coriander and cumin. I made some mint pesto to enhance my israeli couscous plus adding a cooling note to the spice of the porkchop. Adding steamed baby bok choy gave it another texture element and clean taste note. All in all, a well balanced meal in taste and texture.

Makes approximently 3 cups

3 cups rhubarb, cleaned and chopped
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup apple cidar vinegar
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 cup onions, finely chopped
1 teaspoon sriracha sauce
1 tablespoon ginger, fresh, finely chopped
1 tablespoon crystalized ginger, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar

1. Put all ingredients above in a sauce pan over medium-low heat.
2. Cook down for about 20 minutes.
3. Add water, if you like it thinner. Adjust seasonings. Served immediately or chill.

Good for about two weeks.

Let me know how you serve it. The possibilities are endless.

Pull up a chair, Elizabeth

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this sounds yummy. But what is sriracha and where do i find it?

Comment by kris spence

Sriracha is spicy hot sauce. You could use a common hot sauce, but this is a nice blend of different spices. It is becoming more and more common. Chicago area… we can even find it at jewel. Clear bottle with asian writing and bright green top. The sauce is a nice bright green. Bon Appetit even did an article on it not too long ago about how it is the hot new ingredient. I just love it.

Comment by behindthechair




Leave a Reply

