My Communal Table


Chicken pot pie. Need I say more?

Update: Let’s see… I have leftover meat. I have veggies that need to be used or go bad and I have puff pastry in the freezer. I hate to waste food. This is how my pot pies are born every time. No need for an exact recipe. This was my mid-week meal for my family.

This pot pie consisted of turkey, fava beans, mushrooms, leeks, lemon and dill. I always accompany my pies with a crisp tart salad. It is the perfect counter point to the richness of the pie. Twenty minutes prep and thirty minutes cooking time and I have a meal that pleases everyone.

A few minutes after serving everyone, Gabriel announced that he was ready for some more pot pie. I look at his plate and he had only eaten the crunchy pastry off the top. “Hey, you have to eat your meat and vegetables first.”, I said. Gabriel responded “How am I suppose to eat it without more pastry?”

Original Post: I usually bake an entire pie when I make chicken pot pie. I make my grandmothers pie crust and I make the meaty middle with rich cream. I try my hardest not to, but I consume most of the pie. So knowing myself so well, I decided that I would make individual pies and cut out the cream and not put it in a bottom crust like I would normally do. I feel thinner just deciding how I was going to make it.

1.Lightly coated 1 cup ramekins with oil. Put on baking sheet.
2.Heat up a medium size saute pan.
3.Chop up 1 large stalk of celery, 1 med. carrot, half an onion, couple gloves of garlic.
4.Heat about 1 tablespoon of oil in pan, then place in chopped veggies. Saute until tender.
5. Add a heaping cup of cooked chopped chicken. (I had leftover from a roasted chicken a couple of nights before. Rotisserie chicken works well here also.) Stir.
6. Take a heaping tablespoon of flour and sprinkle over mixture. Stir in and cook for a few minutes.
7. Pour chicken broth over veggies and chicken until you see the broth come up about 1/2 way the saute pan. Stir occasionally. The sauce will start to thicken.
8. Put in a cup of peas. Fresh or frozen
9. Add chopped herbs. I had parsley and thyme this time. Be flexible about herbs. Do not let fresh herbs go bad in the fridge. Use them. Throw them in recipes, salads, or even sandwiches.
10. Place creamy mixture into each ramekin. With these amounts, I made 3 pot pies.
11. Cut out the right size piece of thawed out puff pastry to fit your dish and place on top. You might need to wet the edges of your dish so that the pastry adheres to it. Cut a vent hole. (Commercial puff pastry is vegan friendly FYI)
12. Place in a preheated oven at 350F for about twenty minutes. The inside is already cooked. You are done when pastry is cooked.

I served my pot pies with an arugula salad. My son ate the whole thing and claimed it was the best dinner he ever had. I know that this is not a low cal meal, but it is way better than it used to be. I didn’t eat the whole pie for once. Small victories count. This is definitely food of love.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks delicious. I can’t wait to try it!

Comment by Mark

Looks delicious! And, I want to try it. Where is your grandma’s crust recipe? It looks wonderful, and I’d also like to try it.

Comment by Martha

Chicken pot pie….one of my favorites.

Comment by Jordan Schuler




Leave a Reply

