My Communal Table


Am I the only one that had never heard of FRY SAUCE?
January 22, 2010, 3:41 pm
Filed under: sauces and condiments, side dish, Vegan | Tags: , , ,

I keep hearing about fry sauce lately. Have you? I bet I am the only one that doesn’t know about it. So I heard that it is ketchup and mayo mixed. So I decided to try it out. I mixed my ketchup and mayo, then tasted… thousand island dressing without the relish. I had no idea how you made that as well. I have not had thousand island dressing since I was a child and I would order a wedge of iceberg lettece with it smothered on top. That was the salad of my childhood.

Now the experiementing continued… enter the present day ingredient of the moment… Sriracha sauce. Love it! I mixed equal parts ketchup and mayo, then started squeezing in Sriracha sauce a little at a time, tasting as I go. When I found just the right heat, I stopped adding. Now that is going to taste good with my fries.

Then I tried mixing up a batch with vegan mayo instead of Hellman’s brand. My son, Gabriel, is allergic to dairy and eggs and thought he might like it. Okay, as far as vegan mayo goes. Yike. It tastes too much like Miracle Whip to me. Not a fan, but I thought Sriracha can cure a lot of ills. It still tasted like dodo to me. Maybe you Miracle Whip eaters would like it. I really did want it to taste great because the calories are so much lower in the Vegan mayo.

Just on a side note: Does anyone else find it a little ironic that there is a picture of a meat sandwich on the vegan mayo jar?

Now for the fries. These are good. Big taste and a much healthier version then most. Super simple. I also do this with sweet potatoes.

For 2 people:
Preheat oven 400F
Cut three small baking potatoes into strips. No need to peel.
1 T. olive oil
salt and pepper

Toss together and lay out on baking sheet. Place in oven and toss every ten minutes until done. About 30 minutes. Salt lightly when taking out of oven. Bravo.

Gabriel is a big part of this blog and told me that he thought the blog needed a lot more pictures of him. “I am the one that eats most of the food that you write about, Mom.” Gabriel loves burgers served on a thick cut baguette. Ketchup, no fry sauce. What a goof.

UPDATE: I tried the fry sauce with non-fat greek style yogurt, less ketchup and it was great. The best recipe yet. I made it with sweet potato fries this time. I get the great fry taste and I feel so decadent, but have relieved some of the guilt.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

