My Communal Table


Carrot “Best side dish on the planet” Casserole
December 3, 2009, 9:22 pm
Filed under: side dish | Tags: , ,


What makes a side dish the best on the planet? It needs to be easy to prepare, compliments my main dish, and most of all, the taste is so memorable that I can not wait to have it again.

Carrot casserole is a family favorite and it now doesn’t seem like Thanksgiving without it, but it is one of those recipes that I pull out all year round. It goes with beef, pork, lamb, chicken, fish, and so many more. So I have just renamed it… the best side dish on the planet.

Recipe:

2 cups cooked mashed carrots
1 cup saltine crumbs (28 squares)
1 cup milk
3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese (Vermont sharp white cheddar is my fav!)
1/2 cup soft butter
1/4 cup grated white onion
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3 eggs, slightly beaten

Preheat oven 350F

Combine all of the ingredients and place in greased casserole dish, ramekins, or Bundt pan. Bake dish until the sides are firm and the top is slightly browned.

I double the recipe if I use a 13×9 casserole dish. Bake about 40 minutes.

Sometimes I increase all the ingredients by half for a smaller casserole dish. Bundt pan and ramekins, approximently 20-30 minutes cooking time. The carrot ring when released from the Bundt is such a nice presentation on a buffet. I like to butter peas in the middle.

Now for one of the best parts of this recipe. You can make it ahead of time, up to two days, store it in the refrigerator. It is all ready to just pop in the oven and serve your guests. I have often made it a week ahead of time and put it in the freezer and then pulled it out a couple of hours before my party plans.

I am sure that if you make this recipe it will become your family’s favorite as well.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

om gosh this sounds amazing!! Is it similar to any other dishes? I don’t think I”ve ever had anything like it?

Comment by kerri

To Kerri: I can tell you I’ve had Elizabeth’s carrot casserole several times, and it’s as fabulous as she says. It’s my favorite too, and very versatile. We had some for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving, we liked it so much!!

As far as being similar to anything, the colonials in Williamsburg had a somewhat similar recipe, so the idea for this is very old. But I think Elizabeth’s family recipe is better.

Comment by rosieboosie

Sounds tasty. Does it matter if you use whole milk or low fat?

Comment by Carolyn

I can attest. This is one of the world’s greatest side dishes. Ymm.

Comment by Sarah

Doesn’t matter. I have used 2 % milk, egg beaters, and soy butter, but you can not compromise on the cheese. Glorious cheese.

Comment by behindthechair

I am going to go make this right now. The other day I had bought some carrots from our local Mexican tiny grocery store that only carries carrots on steroids, so I ended up with too much for my pot roast. I’m sure this is going to turn out great, and by the looks of the photo, I am going to make my honey so very happy! What a great idea for boring ol’ carrots just sittin’ there on the plate. Beta caretine, here you come.

Comment by Maureen Sharkey

How funny. I never can buy a small amount of carrots as well. I am just grateful that my son likes carrots in his lunch.Let me know how it worked out for you. It sure as been a family stable for us.

Comment by behindthechair

This is my new winter dinner party side dish! I think it would be great to serve with pot roast, roasted pork loin, leg of lamb – why not submit this to food52?? Wild card winner…

Comment by lizthechef

Elizabeth, do you have a printable version of your recipes available on your site? Thanks, Liz

Comment by lizthechef




Leave a Reply

