My Communal Table


Chicken cutlet with mashed potatoes.
September 28, 2009, 11:35 pm
Filed under: Main Entree | Tags: , ,

first food 030
It might be my German heritage or how many Polish friends I have, but I love breaded fried meats. It has many different names… schneitzel, cutlets, fry tenderloin. I love the buttery crisp of the breading before I get to the tender meat inside. When I was in Germany they served me a veal cutlet with a fried egg on top. Oh my God. Frankly, most things are better with a rich delicious egg on top. Sometimes it is served with just lemon, sometimes with gravy, gravy with wine, brown gravy with chopped herbs. I have to stop. I am going crazy with options and love for these cozy tender morsels.

One thing that I love about this meal is that it can be made last minute and it is total comfort food. I use a lot of different cuts of meat. No matter what cut of meat you use, it usually cooks in the same amount of time. Pounding the meat down thin and even does this.

Traditional breading:
1. Flour meat
2. Dip in beaten egg
3. Dredge in bread crumbs
4. Fry in oil and/or butter

Some different ways I like:
1. Flour meat : place flour in a shallow sided bowl or plate. Season flour with salt and pepper.
2. Dip in beaten soy milk, soy sour cream, and mustard. All have been whisked together. I use the non dairy products for my sons allergies, but they have no cholesterol. I have also used just mustard and that works great and there is no fat added.
3. Drudge in bread crumbs. Any extra bread can be dried for crumbs. I also like Panko bread crumbs, but dislike the store bought italian bread crumbs.
4. When you fry your meat make sure the pan is hot before you add the oil. Your meat will not get crisp, your meat will get oily if you do not heat the pan, then the oil before placing in the meat.
I use enough oil and/or butter to cover the bottom of the pan and enough that when you turn the meat there will be enough oil left to crisp the other side.
I have also put my cutlets on a cookie sheet after I sprayed the meat with olive oil and baked them at 375F to really cut the calories.

first food 029

Now to make the meal complete…

Mashed potatoes. Need I say more? Nothing goes better with cutlets then a mashed potato. Do not even think about instant or store bought. I will have to shoot you right in the foot, if you do that. I mean it. Homemade mashed potatoes are easy and you have gone this far, don’t slack. Now get out that peeler and get on it. I do not want anyone to mention instant mashed potatoes in my presence. Understand.

Now if you use red skinned potatoes, you do not even have to peel them. Boil potatoes in salted water until fork tender. Drain, then mash with milk, butter, salt, and pepper. Finished. I use soy butter and rice milk. Sometimes I throw in soy sour cream as well because of my son’s allergies. No one even notices that they are made with non-dairy products and I do not tell them. Sometimes I even add chopped herbs.

Gravy: A couple tablespoons of oil/butter heated in a pan. Throw in about a tablespoon of flour. Heat up. This is a roux. Make it a light carmel to cook the flour taste out of the roux, then add about a cup of wine or/and broth and whisk. It will get thicker. Then I add salt, pepper, herbs, maybe some lemon. I finish with a couple pads of butter. It is so good on top of the meat and potatoes.

Salad: Keep it simple. I just used delicate mixed greens and a light vinaigrette to compliment the meal perfectly. The acid of the dressing on the delicate greens compliments the creamy potatoes and crispy meat.

When you are in the mood for some comfort food, whip out this meal. It takes about thirty minutes to prepare. Quicker then delivery. I have to go, I have some pork tenderloin asking for the cutlet treatment.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sometimes I just need to be reminded how easy it is to do certain things! Like the sauce! You have made this a fun meal to make with your personal comments and tips. Good job!
Love, Mom

Comment by nancy




Leave a Reply

