My Communal Table


Flank steak with a chilled Oberon…I wish I had some again.
August 24, 2009, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Main Entree | Tags: , , ,

food 2 019

Flank steak is one of my favorites cuts of beef there is because it is fast, lower calorie then other meats and super versatitle.  This whole meal took thirty minutes. Actually I could probably win a Top Chef quick fire round with this dish. LOL!

You have probably figured out by now that my approach to cooking dinner is to first look at what are my ingredients on hand and what is in season and try to build from there. It helps use up what you have. I try never to waste food. I just hate it.

What I have: Oberon (by Bell’s. A microbrew from Michigan) No matter what I cook, I was having one of those. Maybe I should open one right now… it may help me think.

Flank steak: 3 lbs.

Haricot Verts:  smaller, delicate flavored green beans. Fresh

Roma tomatoes: soft, but still good. Not good for eating raw. Need to use in something

Blue cheese: could use later, but it goes so well with beef. Need to figure out how to use it. I love love love blue cheese.

You can marinate flank steak for hours or minutes. I love it grilled and I am just going to keep it simple. Rub worchestershire in to the meat, then salt and sprinkle with creole seasoning( which I buy at the grocery store and use it in everything) and let it sit a room tempurature.  The meat will take about 4 minutes per side for medium rare and it will need to sit 10 minutes before slicing. I want to be done in thirty, so I will start grilling in ten.(Note: I use the oven timer to remind me of each step. When to turn, how long to rest, etc. As I am doing everything else, I would never remember without it and my meat would for sure be over cooked.)

Blue cheese: So I have some nice homemade bread crumbs… I know what I will do. I take vidalia onions that I have in my pantry and cut them in half and place on a baking sheet. I mix bread crumbs, blue cheese, pepper, and butter in a bowl and blend. Then I just packed in on top of the halved onions and stuck in a hot oven at 425F. I will take the entire thirty minutes to get tender.

Roma tomatoes: Cooked down they make a nice pasta sauce. Start some salted water to boil. Then I start a saute’ pan heating over med-high.  I finely chop onions and garlic and the the tomatoes. These are all thrown in the pan with some olive oil and cooked down. You will probably need to turn it down to medium at this point. Water is boiling, so I am throwing in some orzo pasta.  Oh, I have some nice kalamata olives. They are chopped up and thrown in the pan with some fresh basil, salt, and pepper. Simmer while pasta is cooking.

Twenty minutes into the process, pull flank steak from grill. Let rest on cutting surface. Letting meat rest is just really important. If you slice too soon, all the juices run out and you have dry meat. We all have done it.

I use a grill pan for the flank steak, so at this point it has all this nice stuff from the steak. I heat it up over medium heat and throw in the harcot verts. If you grilled your flank steak on the grill, just heat up a pan with some olive oil. Toss them around and cook them until tender. This should take about five- six minutes. At the end, I toss in some balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper to taste.

My pasta is done, drained and tossed in the tomato sauce. Meat is sliced. (Make sure to go opposite the grain of the meat.) Onions are pulled from the oven. Everything is put on platter and served.

The meal was quick to prepare, but we lingered over the table enjoying the beer and the food for hours. Good conversation is most important ingredient for a successful dinner. This meal I shared with my favorite people… my sons.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sweet mercy, what I wouldn’t do for an Oberon and some flank steak right now. I haven’t gotten paid yet, so I’m living on rice, eggs, and orange juice!!

Comment by 앤드루 (Andrew)

This meal looks fab. Hi Andrew!!

Comment by rosieboosie




Leave a Reply

