My Communal Table


Pancakes from your pantry.
July 9, 2009, 4:41 am
Filed under: Breakfast, Vegan | Tags: , ,

test camera1 020

I love pancakes, but how many times do you wake up on that Sunday morning and realize that you are missing that one fresh ingredient that is needed for those much loved pancakes.

I started experimenting with vegan recipes because my son has severe food allergies and can not have most baked goods. I just wouldn’t settle. I wanted that perfect pancake that I could serve to my son and everyone else. It would be a success if no one knew that it was vegan. I found it.

Now do not get me wrong. I am an unapologetic carnivore, but you will see quite a few vegan recipes. First, it fits many of my sons dietary restrictions. Second, it is better for the enviroment  that we eat less meat. Third, it is healthier for us. Drats!

Vegan Pancakes

1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

3 T. sugar (I ususally use beet juice sugar. Much lower glycemic level)

1 T. baking powder

1/4 t. salt

1/8t. nutmeg

3 t. Egg Replacer (I get this powder at Whole Foods)

1 1/2 cup soy milk

1/2 t. vanilla ( if your soy has vanilla flavor, omit)

Mix dry ingredients first and then whisk in liguids. You are now ready for your griddle. I usually use soy butter and pure maple syrup. And your berries, bananas… whatever you want added before the first flip.

I also use this recipe for waffles. I make extra and freeze them to pop in the toaster for a mid week breakfast.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Gabe is going to have to share the next time I come to town!

Comment by Jonathan Schuler




Leave a Reply

